FAQ

Where are you from?
I'm from a small town in Northern California called Modesto. I have lived in San Francisco, Leavenworth Kansas, and Orange County. I currently live in Los Angeles.

What do you do for a living?
I work at an art gallery in Hollywood, and I write for various online publications.

What is your educational background?
I have a BA in Art specializing in Art History with a minor in Anthropology, and an MFA in Exhibition Design and Museum Studies.

What is your nationality?
On my father's side I am Welsh, English, Scottish and Irish. On my mother's side I am German, Norwegian and Native American.

How many tattoos do you have?
I don't actually count them that way. But I have one on each calf, one on my lower back, two on my torso, one behind my left ear, the forearm of my left arm is covered and I have a  full right sleeve.

What is your sleeve of?
It's a nod to my Norwegian heritage. The bottom half shows Sverd i Fjell in Stavanger and the rest is kind of an abstract winter night sky with snowflakes and stars and at my shoulder there is a Viking Longship.

What about the rest?
It would take a whole blog in itself to talk about that.
 

What made you decide to give up meat?
I gave up meat in February of 2016. You can read about my plant based philosophy here.  Basically, I changed my way of thinking and eating animals no longer fits with my lifestyle.  I am giving up all animal products after December 2017. I'm so excited!!

When did you start cooking?
Contrary to popular belief, I always loved to cook.  But I was never very good at it and lived alone for a few years and didn't think it was necessary to cook for just me.  When I gave up meat, my creativity really took off and I found that thinking of ways to vegan-ify my favorite meals made the meatless transition much easier, and much more fun.  I like sharing those recipes with everyone and showing that you don't need to eat things that come from animals to be happy, healthy, or enjoy good food.